La Cité du Vin is closed today.

You are

Scientific and Cultural Committee

A solid scientific base for the philosophy and architecture of the permanent tour

You are here

La Cité du Vin draws on expertise from numerous partners and is a member of various national and international networks for cultural and scientific exchange.  Whilst the venue prioritises experience, sharing and accessibility for as many people as possible, the content distributed and offered to all visitors as part of the permanent tour is built on a solid scientific base.

The philosophy and architecture of the permanent tour were established in conjunction with a committee of around thirty people from the worlds of science and culture. This committee includes researchers and academics, as well as representatives from the publishing and media sectors.
Furthermore, we were able to build and enrich the content of the permanent tour thanks not only to the advice and contributions of the Scientific and Cultural Committee, but also to input from experts in a variety of disciplines as well as support from professionals in France and abroad.

the permanent tour  

Members of the Scientific and Cultural Committee 

  • Françoise Argod-Dutard : Professor of French language and literature - Bordeaux Montaigne University
  • Bruno Boidron : Director of Editions Féret
  • Robert Coustet : Art historian, professor emeritus - Bordeaux Montaigne University
  • Jacques Fanet : Agricultural engineer, former deputy director of INAO, former director of the Syndicat des Coteaux du Languedoc
  • Michel Guillard : Photographer, co-founder and former director of the journal L’Amateur de Bordeaux
  • Sandrine Lavaud : University lecturer in medieval history - Bordeaux Montaigne University, president of the Centre d’Etude et de Recherche sur la Vigne et le Vin
  • Jean-Marc Orgogozo : Doctor of medicine & professor - CHU Pellegrin Bordeaux
  • Joël Rochard : Agricultural engineer, director of the IFVV’s Champagne regional division
  • Hubert Sacy : Director General of the Canadian association Educ'Alcool
  • Marie-Christine Tarby-Maire : President of the association Vin & Société
  • Hélène Velasco : Professor of geography - Bordeaux Montaigne University
  • Jérôme Baudouin : Journalist at La Revue du Vin de France
  • Jean-Pierre Corbeau : Professor of sociology and head of the ‘Wine Marketing’ course - University of Tours
  • Nicolas de Baillencourt : Grand Chancellor of the Académie du Vin de Bordeaux
  • Michel Figeac : Professor of modern history - Bordeaux Montaigne University, director of the Centre d'Etude des Mondes Moderne et Contemporain
  • Yves Harte : Journalist, writer, editor in chief of Sud-Ouest
  • James Lawther : Master of Wine, independent consultant, writer and journalist
  • Jocelyne Perard : Professor of climatology, holder of the UNESCO Culture and Tradition of Wine chair - University of Burgundy
  • Xavier Rosan : Founder and editorial director of the journal Le Festin
  • Jacques Sargos : Art historian, writer, editor in Bordeaux
  • André Tchernia : Archaeologist, director of studies -  School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences
  • Jean-Didier Vincent : Doctor of neurobiology, Institute member, professor emeritus at Paris-Sud University, president of ISVV’s scientific committee
  • Jean-Claude Berrouet : Oenologist, ampelologist, former cellar master for Etablissements Moueix
  • Christian Coulon : Anthropologist, professor of political science, IEP Bordeaux
  • Denis Dubourdieu (1949-2016) : Agricultural engineer, professor of oenology, director of ISVV
  • Gilbert Garrier : Professor emeritus of contemporary history, University Lumière-Lyon 2 
  • Jean-Paul Kaufmann : Journalist, writer, former editor in chief of L’Amateur de Bordeaux and founder of L’Amateur de Cigare
  • Patrick McLeod : Doctor of medicine, president of the Institut Français du Goût
  • Jean-Robert Pitte : Professor of geography, honorary president of Paris-Sorbonne University, member of the Institut Français du Goût, president of the Société de Géographie
  • Philippe Roudie : Professor emeritus of geography at Bordeaux Montaigne University
  • Jean Saric : Doctor of medicine, professor at CHU Bordeaux
  • Amancio Tenaguillo y Cortazar : University lecturer in modern literature, founder and president of CEPDIVIN